Vishal Bhardwaj on casting Saif Ali Khan as Langda Tyagi in Omkara

Speaking about Saif’s casting as Langda Tyagi, Bhardwaj spoke about a movie that he was making with Aamir Khan that got shelved. “Actually, I’ve shelved more movies than I’ve made,” he joked. The character of Langda Tyagi was born during a brainstorming session between the filmmaker and Aamir ‘Perfectionist’ Khan.

fter the film got shelved, Aamir said why don’t you make Othello and I will play Langda Tyagi. I didn’t think at that time that a star would be interested in playing the role and that prompted me to think of casting a star. I liked Saif in Dil Chahta Hai and Ek Hasina Thi. I met him and I got the confidence from him that he’ll be able to pull it off.

The director also spoke about the fine balance between artistic movies and commercial success.

If we talk about ‘Beedi Jalaile’, I’ll be very honest with you and say that we wanted it to be the biggest item number of the year. But integrating the item song into the movie and making it realistic was important. Finally, if any one would have gone out for a smoke break or to take a phone call during the song, then they would have missed an essential part of the screenplay. And that’s an art.

Leave a Reply

